Hong Kong Day 3

Hi there,

So now that we’re done with the posts regarding the holiday, let’s steer the wheel back a bit and revisit the posts about my time in Hong Kong. If my memory serves me right (and I’m not suffering from a sudden onset of culinary amnesia) I think we were on day 3? So what did I do, or, more correctly, what did I eat on day three? Let’s see, shall we?

My dad is a big fan of barbecue pork. He brings an extra expandable suitcase with him every time we go to HK just so he could bring back his beloved red-stained fatty pieces of porky-goodness. While my mom and I ran around the house figuring out which shoes and handbags to bring, my dad was running around finding the perfect plastic containers (i.e. the ones with the best seal) and extra large zip-lock bags for his BBQ pork mission.

Therefore, it only seems appropriate for me to ask my foodie friend who resides in HK for BBQ pork recommendations. After stating to her that we are a little short on time and would like to go to only one place. She chose Fu Sing for us. She said that not only is their BBQ pork so succulent and tender, their dim sum and other dishes are also very good. Without hesitation, we hopped on a cab and headed straight to Fu Sing for lunch.

The first thing that stuck us was how busy the place was. Yet, while it was completely packed, the restaurant was very clean and calm, no getting elbowed by the patrons on the next table or hearing the chaotic complaints from the ever-so-grumpy servers. What a surprise! Yet, despite the better than usual atmosphere for a Chinese restaurant, the wait time was also unusually long. We waited and waited for many of the dishes to come up. Some dishes were forgotten and some took so long that we had forgotten about them already.

very mouthwatering
Can you believe they were still cruncy?
The star - so tender, so juicy, so good

So how was the BBQ pork, you may wonder – really good! Unlike my dad, I’m not such a fan of this dish myself, however, I absolutely loved it here. Like my friend had told me, the pork was the most tender I’ve had with a strong aroma of honey and a very mouthwatering sweetness that nicely balances out its sauce. However, my dad said it’s “too good” for his taste. Not something he would want to eat all the time due to it being on the sweeter side. To each their own in the realm of tastebuds. Although my favorite dish of the whole meal was actually the vegetables in clay pot. I don’t know what they put in the veggies, but they were so crispy! Despite being cooked in lots of sauces, seasoning, and steam; the greens still posses the crunchiness like that of freshly picked, off the fields vegetables – definitely a must try! Apart from these two dishes, the dim sum were also very good and the mango pudding delicious. Overall, a very successful meal indeed.

For dinner we ate at one of our favorite Japanese restaurants called Zuma. Zuma brings back memories of London and how I associate the joy of freedom to its food. Since nothing could be better than countryside boarding girls getting a chance to come to London once a month and eating the most delicious rolls and black cod in the beautiful Knightsbridge area amongst the who’s who of the hip London crowd. Needless to say that I feel compel to eat at Zuma every time I’m in a country with one – just for a kick of nostalgia.

really refreshing cocktail, too bad I lost the name
another good one without a name in my memory

I don’t know if it’s because it’s not in England, so I don’t get as much kick out of it or if it’s really the food, but I’ve always liked how the food tasted in London better. I can’t put my finger on the difference though. But, nonetheless, everything was still very delicious. My favorites are still the miso black cod and their endless-list of delicious cocktails. Since it’s been a month since I ate here, I do not remember exactly how things tasted that night. So hopefully the pictures will do a better job that I could.

dynamite spider roll - good and crunchy
delicious wagyu tataki maki
The star - miso marinated black cod wrapped in hoba leaf

sirloin wagyu with wafu sauce and gatlic crisp - very good!
sake custard with grape sorbet - an interesting flavors marriage

Bon Appétit!

Fu Sing

1/F, 353 Lockhart Road,

Sunshine Plaza, Wanchai, Hong Kong

Zuma

Level 5 and 6, the Landmark,

Central, Hong Kong


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Austin says:

    Very good blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website

    soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like

    WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally

    overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thanks!

Leave a comment