A Merry Belly

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!!

I hope the year of the rabbit will bring plenty of luck and happiness to all my lovely readers. (And fear not, updating this blog more often is up there on my new year resolution list!) Apart from the fact that I was in HK (be on the lookout for a very long entry on that real soon,)  I have no excuses for being very VERY MIA for two weeks apart from an honest confession that I absolutely, whole-heartedly, like-a-kid-in-a-candy-store-ly LOVE the Holidays. And like every year, I absolutely savored every single moment of the festive season. =)

Although I have to admit that I’m a little sad that’s now there are 12 more months until the next Christmas, I have plenty of pictures of the Christmas party I had at my house to share with you all. Coincidentally, my grandmother’s birthday also falls on Christmas Eve. So the day has always been the biggest party of the year at our house. It took me, literally, two whole days and a combined total of 8 hours sleep to prepare for it. But everything went really well and everyone enjoyed themselves and, more importantly, each others’ company.

I was responsible for the flower arrangements and the dessert table this year. The wanted it to look festive but I’m not a big fan of red and green together. So I went with red and white. After spending some time flicking through Martha Stewart’s Living (one of the best lifestyle mags IMO,) and after of sketches later (yes I like to sketch things out, my brain is very visual,) this was what I came up with:

More pictures below, please enjoy! =)

p.s. Although a hot cup of mulled wine (red wine heated with christmasy spices like cinnamon and cloves) is not very suitable for Thai weather, but for those who would like a good recipe, Jamie Oliver has one HERE.

p.p.s I actually filmed a little video of me teaching how to make a very simple salted caramel banoffee pie to post on the blog as a holiday gift for you guys. But I chickened out and got too shy (haha.) So let me know if that would be something you guys might be interested in. =)

Bon Appétit!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Pat says:

    Wow, they all look amazing! The colour coordination of the table is also amazing. Everything looks so yummy 🙂

    Happy new year to you!

    1. Thank you, thank you =D And a very happy new year to you also!

  2. Keith says:

    Happy New Year,

    I’ve been a fervor reader of your blog, and i know this is rather abrupt, but I have a favor to ask.

    I have been always wanting to visit Biscotti again since my last trip, and just so happened I will be coming down on Valentine week. So I have the intention to bring my partner there again, for old time sake. She loves their Fettuccine to bits!

    I tried calling in to make reservation but was informed that their normal menu may not be served on Vday. A little disappointed. Considering took me almost 20 minutes to communicate my contacts to the person i spoke to over the phone – partly due to bad reception, i didnt quite got a chance to ask if they would accept special request.

    Would you be kind enough to check for me if you drop by there again? (ur fav restaurant right? =) I will be truly grateful!!)

    Appreciate if you could assist me. Thank you!!

    1. Hi Keith, I was busy so I asked my boyfriend to call the Four Seasons for you. He said that they are not certain whether or not they will be doing a set menu this year. But given what they did in previous years, it’s likely that it would be a set menu. They are not taking a reservation until Jan 20th. He also asked if it would be possible for them to make dishes outside the set menu as a special occasion, and the person said that he would have to ask the head chef if that would be possible. I’ll let you know when they get back to us regarding this question. 🙂

      1. Keith says:

        Hey there!

        Appreciate your assistance on matter. Yes i guess you are right, would be a bummer if they don’t have their menu – not to mention the fact being it would be silly to go a day late or earlier given the auspicious timing. Nevertheless, oh well! if you do hear anything, oh please do let me know? I really hope to make this a special occasion for her.

        Do pass my heartfelt thanks to your boyfriend? I really do appreciate both of your effort in helping a stranger like me:)

        Much appreciated!!! And please do keep up your good work here. Makes a load of different browsing through your page =) when i am bored at work! haha

        Regards,
        Keith

      2. You’re very welcome. I will pass on your thanks to my boyfriend also. One other suggestion that I have for you is, if all else fails, try dining at Aqua, which is their small alfresco bar. When I want a more casual dinner, I normally go there since they let you order from Biscotti as well. Good luck!!

  3. prin says:

    i say ‘aye’ to the banoffee video! yes, please! that’ll be so much fun, especially for an extreme novice like me 😀

Leave a comment