My Top 5 Foolproof Recipes

I get asked all the time about my baking tips, tricks, and secrets; and every time I answer “I don’t have any.” The response I get is always a mixture of complete puzzlement and the “pfft…I know you’re lying” look. But, honestly, I don’t have any.

To me, baking is much easier than cooking -you just need to be able to follow a recipe. And the key is to follow it to the T. Precision is very important, especially in your earlier trials. Unlike, cooking, the urge to experiment and add a little more of your favorite ingredients often result in a sunken cake, a flat cookie, or a yeasty bread. Baking is like science; you rely on the reactions between the ingredients to create the structure, the texture, and the flavor of your desserts. Therefore, until you are experienced enough to know which ingredient is responsible for what “action,” put your experimenter’s hat away and play the role of a studious little school girl/boy and REALLY follow that recipe.

Since recipes are so important for inexperienced bakers, it’s also very key to find a good recipe. As an avid cookbook collector, more often than not, I fall into the trap of buying the pretty-but-good-for-nothing cookbooks. Many writers out there just do not want to share their signature recipes! But, hey, I’m not here to judge. It is very understandable since, after all, those are their top secret treasures that bring them the dough.

What I am trying to say is, don’t fret if your cheesecake has a huge crack in the middle of it. It happens to all of us. As a matter of fact, I just baked a really ugly cheesecake last week. Sometimes, it’s not even your fault; the recipe owner might have “forgotten” to include the fact that in order to achieve the perfect cheesecake, a water bath is your best friend.

So as someone who’s been there before, I’m here to help you! Here’s a list of my tried and tested foolproof recipes. They are clear and simple recipes from many lovely bakers who understand the joy of sharing. So, rest assure, you will be given all the steps required in order to create your first masterpiece. I ensure you that if you follow these recipes step-by-step and take your time with it, you will achieve good results!

  1. Chocolate covered strawberries –  Credit: Kitten

    Credit Allrecipes
  2. White chocolate and cranberries cookie – Credit: Diane Abed

    Credit: Allrecipes
  3. Banana Cake VI – Credit: Cindy Carnes

    Credit: Allrecipes
  4. Blueberry Muffins – Credit: Puppadoowab’s Blog

    Credit: puppadoowab
  5. Blondies – Credit: Milk and Honey Cafe’s Blog

    Credit: Milk and Honey Cafe

Please share with me your lovely creations. I’m so excited to see how they will turn out. I hope you enjoy baking as much as I do!

Bon Appétit!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. P'Ray says:

    Nong Nida,
    Thanks so much ka. I will definitely pick one and try when I come back form Spain next week. Will let you know the result ka.

    P.S I love your blog ja… Apart from cooking and baking stuffs, I think you’re gifted in writing too!

    1. P’Ray ka,
      Thank you na ka =)
      I forgot to mention that it’s also very helpful to read the reviews underneath ka. Usually people who tried the recipes would have their own little variations.

  2. Tarn says:

    Thanks for the recipe na Nida!
    Here’s my Blondies result jaa. =)

    1. Dee jai tee mee kon long =)

  3. Nina says:

    You should test these recipes on me and see if they’re really foolproof! I’m just happy to be your consumer though 🙂

    1. I really want to try your food, at least once!

Leave a comment